Alternative / Fitness / Lifestyle

Fighting fit with Karate

When we think of Karate, we think of fit young men and women. We don’t think about stressed students who want an escape that doesn’t involve a gym. That is what drove PhD student Leroy Maisiri to try the sport.

“I’m a typical guy. I like video games as much as the next person and regularly play them with my friends. When I first came to Rhodes, I was unsure about what I wanted to do for fun. I’m not a runner or a weightlifter so I knew the gym was not an option for me. I wasn’t unfit or anything but I knew that it wasn’t good for me to sit in lectures all day and then come home and play video games all night. Honestly, when I started doing Karate, I didn’t think I would last very long, but now I’ve been doing it for 3 years and I really enjoy it.”

 

 

 

Tell us what you think

